A list of the Governors-General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

Governors-General of Canada, 1867-1928.

Names.	Date of Appointment.	Date of Assumption of Office.
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G. Lord Stanley of Freston, G.C.B. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl Grey, G.C.M.G Field Marshal H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. General the Lord Byng of Viny, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O. Lord Willingdon of Ratton, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E.	Dec. 29, 1868 May 22, 1872 Oct. 5, 1878 Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1898 Sept. 26, 1904 Mar. 21, 1911 Aug. 19, 1916	July 1, 1867 Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1872 Nov. 25, 1873 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1883 Nov. 12, 1898 Nov. 12, 1898 Dec. 10, 1904 Oct. 13, 1911 Nov. 11, 1912 Oct. 2, 1926

Subsection 2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of the Government, although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time, while other members may be without portfolio.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and the dates of their tenures of office, together with the members of the fourteenth Ministry, as on Jan. 1, 1929, are given in Table 2.

2.-Ministries since Confederation.

Nors.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-663. A list of the members of the twelfth and thirteenth Ministries appeared on pp. 76-77 of the 1927-1928 Year Book.

- Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873.
- 2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Premier. From Nov. 7, 1873 to Oct. 16, 1878.
- 3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From Oct. 17, 1878 to June 6, 1891.
- 4. Hon, Sir John J. C. Abbott, Premier. From June 16, 1891 to Dec. 5, 1892.
- Hon, Sir John S. D. Thompson, Premier. From Dec. 5, 1892 to Dec. 12, 1894.
- 6. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Premier. From Dec. 21, 1894 to April 27, 1896.
- 7. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Premier. From May 1, 1896 to July 8, 1896.
- 8. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier. From July 11, 1896 to Oct. 6, 1911.
- Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Conservative Administration). From Oct. 10, 1911 to Oct. 12, 1917.
- Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917 to July 10, 1920.
- Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Premier. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party"). From July 10, 1920 to Dec. 29, 1921.
- 12. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Dec. 29, 1921 to June 28, 1926.
- 13. Rt. Hop. Arthur Meighen, Premier. From June 29, 1926 to Sept. 25, 1926.
- 14. Rt. Hon, William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Sept. 25, 1926.